• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 piXelicidio

piXelicidio
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 March 2015 - 06:05 AM

Hi, newcomer here ;)

I'm new to SMS, a guy from the old times of Delphi  7 with almost zero knowledge of java-script. 

My problem is that I'm using Basic verison and most demos are using Forms with controls.

Is there another version of Spartacus demo or similar sprite demo without froms? Canvas only?

Would be too hard to convert Spartacus demo to canvas only?

Regards,

Denys.

• Ekbergket, RudyAttemia, Danielfem and 5 others like this

Regards,

Denys

#2 Jørn E. Angeltveit

Jørn E. Angeltveit
  • Administrators
  • 297 posts
  • LocationNorway

Posted 11 March 2015 - 02:22 PM

Good question!

First of all:

You are able to work with "form projects" in the basic edition, but you'd need to create all elements runtime (since you don't have the visual designer).

If you're experienced with architectural patterns like MVVM, MVP and MVC, you might consider this to be a good thing.

And I agree:  We should really create some visual-components demos for the basic edition.

We have basically had game development, canvas-development, node.js, espruino, etc in mind for this edition.

I'll see if we can publish something on this topic.

The "sprite" library in the "Spartacus" demo is designed to work with DOM-elements, and thus not suitable for canvas projects.

(http://smartmobilest...erted-to-smart/)

This project should not have been categorised under "Canvas".

If you take a look at the demos from the contest we ran a couple of years ago, you will find a few nice examples.

The source for these are in the demos folder too.

(http://smartmobilest...tcontest2013-1/)

Under "Canvas" and "Games" you will also find a few demos with generic sprite management.

Eg. Missile Command (Nicle Iron).

Take also a look at this "tutorial" on how you can get sprites to work with the Box2d library:

http://stackoverflow...t-mobile-studio