Sign in to follow this  
Czar

Game Demo

When I picked up Delphi 2 many many years ago my main goal was to program games. Purely as a hobby as I never intended to program for a living.

For many years I made games using DelphiX and later DanJetX and OmegaDX9. Smart Mobile Studio represents an awesome opportunity to create games and animated graphics for browsers, tablets and phones. Initially I thought it would be a breeze converting some of my older games to SMS but I quickly ran into a myriad of challenges. Mainly due to my lack of understanding.

I set about trying to make a demo that demonstrated techniques that I need in order to port some of my games. First I tried running as many demos as I could but all of them lacked elements of what I needed. I found the missile command demo very useful although due to a lack of documentation it can be difficult to understand certain parts of it. The Missile Command demo lacked a number of important elements. There was no keyboard interaction and none of the sprites were being rotated or otherwise manipulated.

I have managed to solve my challenges because Jon and others, here on the forum, are patient enough to answer some of my questions. For that reason I decided to post my Game Demo here and also explain a few of the challenges that I encountered so that others can learn from it.

gameshot.jpg

Canvas vs. Form

You can create a game in either canvas mode or using a tW3form. The canvas is faster and similar to a DirectX surface and the Form is the equivalent of using a Delphi Form with VCL components. Use the canvas.

My Requirements

SpriteSheet - the easiest way to animate a sprite is to use a spritesheet that contains all the animation frames.

spritesheet1.png

Rotation - This was a real bugbear for me. How to rotate the image on the screen. It turns out to be pretty simple but there were no examples available that demonstrated this techinque.